Click to enter the Gallery

"Instrument of Prayer" 10'4" x 6' x 8' with details

of the 7 Deadly Sins  (each 3 1/2' - 4' tall )

 SINce My Last Confession  STATEMENT

SINce My Last Confession is a sculpture collection deeply rooted in a bewildering and appalling confessional experience that occurred decades ago.The series includes sculptures of the seven deadly sins - avarice, gluttony, pride, envy, lust, wrath and sloth - plus eight penance wall reliefs and a monumental rosary.  To "keep the faith" and foster hope and optimism, I approached the usually dark theme with wit and pleasantry.  My intent for each "sin" was to present a timeless moment when human demeanor exceeds moderation and enters the realm of the extravagant and noxious.  Collectively, my aim was to survey panoramically our humanness, attitudes and weaknesses through facial expressions, body postures and gestures; traversing beyond the boundaries of formal religion and communicating a comprehensible universal language.  The wall reliefs and giant rosary installation counterbalance the visual and subjective weight of the sins. SINce My Last Confession embraces a new reality of the sensation of conscience.  Creating this series healed the wound of my last confession. No sacrilege was intended by the content.  The collection, created from 1993 to 1995 is modeled in low-fire  clay and colored with oil pigments. SINce My Last Confession is a contemplation and celebration of our behavioral human journey.



Barbara Scavotto Earley Sculpture